You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A forklift truck and pallets with bottles are pictured in the distribution centre of the Coca-Cola production facility in Genshagen, Germany, DPA/PA Images

Health taxes 'can reduce consumption' of harmful products among the poor

While consumption might dtop – the net effect on obesity is negligible.

TAXES ON UNHEALTHY goods can reduce the level of consumption for people in lower socio-economic groups, a new report has found.

The study by the Lancet found that low-income households tend to be more greatly affected by price changes compared to high income homes. However, a FactCheck conducted by TheJournal.ie found that, while consumption might be reduced, the net effect on obesity rates was negligible.

In October last year, the Government announced levy on drinks which contain a significant amount of sugar.

The so-called “sugar tax”, which had been well-flagged in advance, means consumers will pay 30 cent per litre on drinks which have more than 8 grams of sugar per 100 millilitres. The charge will kick in this year.

Debate has raged about how effective the levy will be, especially in relation to obesity rates – something which the Government has consistently cited as the main reason for the tax.

According to the Lancet study, evidence shows that high-income families generally consume more, and spend more, on alcohol, soft drinks and snacks, compared to those on less money.

It said: “Increased taxes on unhealthy products will therefore affect a larger number of high-income households than low-income households, meaning that the revenues generated by taxes will come disproportionately from high income households.

Tax policies can also be designed to influence this effect. Since high income consumers are more likely to buy more expensive beverages, especially alcohol, an alcohol policy based on unit price may be less of a burden on low income household, compared to a policy based on volume.

Health levies also include minimum alcohol pricing. New laws were supposed to take effect early this  year but the dissolution of the devolved government in Stormont stalled that process. It was hoped that both north and south would bring in minimum pricing at the same time to stop people heading across the border for cheaper alcohol.

The introduction of labelling on alcohol products is also included in the law, which will result in clear warnings about the danger alcohol poses to our health.

The Lancet study found that, as a proportion of total household expenditure, low income households tend to be more greatly affected by price changes compared to wealthier families.

“In the UK, the response to the possible introduction of a minimum price for alcohol was estimated to be 7.6 times larger in the poorest households, compared to the wealthiest. In Mexico, the introduction of a soft drinks tax resulted in an average of 4.2 litres less of soft drinks purchased per person, with a 17% decrease in purchases among lower income groups, and almost no change in higher income groups.”

FactCheck’s analysis of data from the NCDRisC project shows that in four countries which have had a sugary drinks tax in recent years (Mexico, France, Denmark and Hungary), average BMI (body mass index) and obesity prevalence increased or remained static, year-on-year, from 2008 to 2014.

Dr Rachel Nugent, Chair of The Lancet Taskforce said: “The evidence suggests that concerns about higher taxes on tobacco, alcohol, and soft drinks harming the poor are overstated.

“Some degree of taxation on tobacco is common in many countries, and while we are starting to see progress on alcohol taxes, there is much more governments should be doing – in both high and low income countries – to consider the careful introduction of taxes on other unhealthy products like soft drinks and snacks. Price policies such as taxes will be a key part of the response to rising rates of non-communicable diseases.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Feb 17th 2019, 2:54 PM

Not making any friends doing this. Campaign outside his offices perhaps.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:46 PM

@Jon Snow: I thought that last week but anything that brings accountability to this sham of a government can’t be a bad thing as long as it remains peaceful. FG have time after time proven they don’t care about people from any walk of life. Why should we care about them. Scandal after scandal , something has to be done and maybe this will give it the push it needs. Worked last week for the nurses. I admire anyone that stands for the masses peacefully.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:57 PM

@Hardly Normal: Stand for the masses peacefully out the Dail, or the politicians constituency office then. The “Free State” bit of their spiel is laughable – someone should tell them its been gone for over 80 years.

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:57 PM

@Clifford Brennan: *outside the Dail

Mute bopter
    Favourite bopter
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:05 PM

@Hardly Normal: What about his kids? Maybe his elderly parents are there too?

Should they be made to be in fear today or upset by the protest?

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:30 PM

@Clifford Brennan: sure when are they in their constituency office? It doesn’t have the same impact.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:32 PM

@bopter: maybe they were and they should be ashamed of their father/son for being part of a government that have blood on their hands.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:48 PM

@Hardly Normal: no, it’s not ok. People need to stop re-electing them or STFU.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:56 PM

@Liam Byrne: So it’s ok for everyone else to be affected in their lives and homes (if they’re lucky enough to have one). I’ve never voted for them so I won’t shut up.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:06 PM

@Hardly Normal: hmm – this sort of stuff doesn’t help bring accountability to anybody – need complete reform of civil service and political administration in this country – completely outdated – not fit for purpose and a whole cohort of highly paid unaccountable pensionable -not allowed to be fired non-sense – massively increased health ‘Management’ administrators into the system in last 5 years and not a single blip of improvement – just a bigger health bill for taxpayers – the country is in dore need of reform – 10 lads standing outside one politicians home is not the answer-by a long shot.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:08 PM

@bopter: What do you think they could be afraid of? They are just people standing on a public pavement with a few banners.

I have to laugh at the fake outrage I see on here. People need to man the feck up and cop the hell on.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:29 PM

@Dave Hammond: what is the answer then Dave! In the real world you’ll be sacked on the spot for gross incompetence , how do we hold these lads accountable? I agree the whole country needs to be reformed but no one seems to be willing to call it as it is and do something about it.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:33 PM

@Hardly Normal: Ah, it’s the “I only like democracy when I get what I want”brigade. Clever and brave bunch.

And I also love the nauseating judgement from their keyboard comrades. Hardly, you must be the most perfect individual to be able to preach to this man’s family, how they should feel about them.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:53 PM

@MK76: it’s not about me it’s about the people of this country. Everyone has been affected by their incompetency. They don’t care about people , why should we afford them any respect? People have died , kids have lost young mother’s because of them man. How can you back up people in a political party that have fu©ked up so badly.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:59 PM

@Hardly Normal: “It’s not about me” but that didn’t stop you passing judgment on how the man’s family should feel about him.

And in our democracy you get a say who governs. If you don’t like it, by all means feel free to protest, but not to intimidate. The latter just shows the complete lack of character these morons have.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:13 PM

@MK76: they should feel ashamed , I’d be mortified if anyone in my family had a hand in their gross incompetence. The government have violated the entire people of Ireland and you’re worried about their feelings.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:38 PM

@Hardly Normal: But it’s not about you though Hardly, right?Go on, do tell us how you have become the yardstick for societal morality?

Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:46 PM

@Hardly Normal: I’ll be voting FG in the next election. These anti democratic demonstrations will just make the majority of people vote FG. If I was them I would be protesting the politicians that proclaim to represent the working class but refuse to go into partnerships in order to form a government……..why, they much prefer to spout popular nonsense and collect a pay Cheque than make any unpopular decisions.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:50 PM

@Barry Ryan: that’s your right embarrassing, yet still your right.

Mute Myles Collier
    Favourite Myles Collier
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:53 PM

@Hardly Normal: it is undemocratic to remove democratically elected officials. It is better tp campaign against them or provide better substitutes. Imagine all the people who disagreed with who you voted for, rempved that politician based on their beliefs. There are better ways in a democracy to get your way than fire everyone you disagree with

Mute katie
    Favourite katie
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:05 PM

@Jon Snow: disgraceful behaviour losers have nothing better to do on a Sunday. Go to church or the beach for a walk

Mute katie
    Favourite katie
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:06 PM

@Jon Snow: disgraceful behaviour losers…..have nothing better to do on a Sunday. Go to church or the beach for a walk

Mute katie
    Favourite katie
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:06 PM

@Jon Snow: disgraceful behaviour. have they nothing better to do on a Sunday. Go to church or the beach for a walk

Mute katie
    Favourite katie
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:07 PM

Go to church or the beach for a walk

Mute katie
    Favourite katie
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:07 PM

@Hardly Normal: not in my name

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:49 PM

@Myles Collier: if the people I voted for ran a country the way this crowd do then I would be saying exactly the same thing. Ten years and things have only got worse. I want an election brexit or no brexit and FF are stopping that from happening. How else do we get what we need democratically when the opposition are actually keeping the government in power??

Mute Donal McCarthy
    Favourite Donal McCarthy
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:58 PM

@Hardly Normal: Elections are what we use to bring accountability to politicians. Targeting the families and neighbours of politicians (which is what you do when you protest outside their homes) is disgusting behaviour.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:14 PM

@Hardly Normal: Says the fella who’s attacking a man’s family on line. You seem not to realise your chastising your own nauseating behaviour, when abusing me.

Like I said, clever, clever stuff from a brave keyboard comrade. Why not have the courage of your pathetic and judgmental convictions and join those morons outside Minister’s houses?

Mute james boylan
    Favourite james boylan
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:19 PM

@Hardly Normal:
    You are a coward, hiding behind a fake name, yet calling people to account. You do realise this gives you no standing/respect/dignity.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:28 PM

@james boylan: hi lad , Fionn Bohane from cork

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:40 PM

@MK76: some of us work and on a Sunday too, imagine that … You’re the one who attacked me and my opinions sham, yet you call me comradre. You shouldn’t use words you don’t understand, makes you look foolish.

Mute Paddy O
    Favourite Paddy O
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:46 PM

@Hardly Normal: “the entire people of Ireland”….a bit of a generalisation?

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:57 PM

@Paddy O: not really , we’re all affected, directly or indirectly by decisions made. No one really is hurt by the children’s Hospital being over budget but it affects us because its the tax payers money that could have went to better use. If you’ve a family member that sought medical treatment in recent times then the care given wasn’t up to standard as the staff in the hospital are under pressure again due to government policy.

Mute the-baldie-lad
    Favourite the-baldie-lad
    Feb 17th 2019, 9:54 PM

@Hardly Normal: you wait 5 years from the last election normally. That’s the constitution. That’s how it works. Unless the government collapses. When I checked the last election was early 2016. That means there is one due in early 2021 unless the government collapses before then. Civics lesson concludes.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 17th 2019, 10:15 PM

@Barry Ryan: Barry, how is it undemocratic to protest against perceived injustices??

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Feb 18th 2019, 12:02 AM

@the-baldie-lad: aren’t you a clever boy then.

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Feb 17th 2019, 2:58 PM

People have the right to protest where ever they want as long as it is peaceful and respectful that’s democracy, politicians don’t have the right to pick and choose what’s ok in a democratic society.

Mute flexfinn
    Favourite flexfinn
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:00 PM

@Tom Ryan: do you think it’s right to protest outside his house

Mute Jesus Christ
    Favourite Jesus Christ
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:01 PM

@Tom Ryan: not outside someone’s home they don’t. That’s not protesting, it’s harassment and intimidation.

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute John McG
    Favourite John McG
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:01 PM

@Tom Ryan: Just because you can do something does’t me you should!

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:05 PM

@Tom Ryan: Would you like a crowd outside your home? This is not protesting its intimidation.

Mute Doubtchya Boy!
    Favourite Doubtchya Boy!
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:12 PM

@flexfinn: if it was the women at the centre of the cervical test scandal parked outside Simon Harris’ house would it be ok with you then? Its still dragging on using the smae labs im amazed they havent resorted to shaming him in doing so

Mute Pádraig McCann
    Favourite Pádraig McCann
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:14 PM

@Tom Ryan: What about his right to privacy and his family who are not in the public domain?

Mute Derrick Ó Súilleabháin
    Favourite Derrick Ó Súilleabháin
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:22 PM

@Tom Ryan: protesting outside a house can be classed as intimidation witch is illegal if they feel threatened even if its non violent. I do think we should be protesting the BB in Ireland is bad

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:33 PM

@Tom Ryan: No they don’t.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:40 PM

@Tom Ryan: outside people’s homes? Cop on

Mute Rubber Head
    Favourite Rubber Head
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:41 PM

@Tom Ryan: why are the protesters not at work I wonder. Oh wait ….

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:45 PM

@Rubber Head: …. Oh! That`s right! ….It`s Sunday……..Where are you today??

Mute Mentis Green
    Favourite Mentis Green
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:58 PM

@Tom Ryan: Yes that’s true people have the right to peaceful assembly and it is also in EU charter of rights.

Mute Neville Bartos
    Favourite Neville Bartos
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:08 PM

@Mentis Green: not when the ‘peaceful assembly’ is used as a means to intimidate.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:09 PM

@Tom Ryan: rubbish. What about others who live in that house?

Mute Rubber Head
    Favourite Rubber Head
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:59 PM

@Pixie McMullen: in work funnily enough. Struggling to pay for my mortgage with all the taxes I am subject to do the free loaders can all jump on a band wagon

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:34 PM

@Rubber Head: its sunday

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:39 PM

@Rubber Head: What are you doing on the internet all day so? does your employer pay you to browse the web?

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:55 PM

@Tom Ryan: Sorry, but a person ( and their family) also have a right to Privacy, Safety and many other ‘ rights’. You guys calling out about ‘ rights’ need to look at the various Documents, Charters on Human Rights. This kind of behaviour is NOT what decent, law abiding Human Rights activists campaign for. Its not just embarrassing but its also not representative of real Campaigners; its just a little short of thuggery.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:24 PM

@Pádraig McCann: what right to privacy? He chose a career in the public eye, people have a right to stand on public property. They pay their taxes they can go anywhere public that they want.

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:42 PM

@Tom Ryan: nobody has the right to intimate any TDs family,

Mute Ernie Gallagher
    Favourite Ernie Gallagher
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:02 PM

@Pixie McMullen: It’s actually compulsory in the FFG troll department – even on a Sunday.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:41 PM

@Tom Ryan: If you feel like that then you really are the dregs of society. By all means, try to vote FG out but you’ll find most of us are quite happy with the government and abhor this type of protest.

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:48 PM

@Barry Somers: I don’t think any of the protesters want to be in any shape or form intimate with the TD and I also believe no one has the right to intimidate any one, but people have a democratic right to protest where ever they choose in a public place as long as it’s peaceful and respectful.

Mute John O'Hara
    Favourite John O'Hara
    Feb 17th 2019, 9:29 PM

@Rubber Head: Oh the naivety…

Mute John O'Hara
    Favourite John O'Hara
    Feb 17th 2019, 9:32 PM

@Rubber Head: Cop yourself on…

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 18th 2019, 12:58 AM

@Jesus Christ: Ironic is it not when the last resort is to protest against the very people who state accountability will be given for the incompetence of the present F.G./F.F. government. Yet nobody has been held accountable for the economic destruction of this country. Simon Harris in an interview ? If you could call it an interview with R.T.E. was given a platform without serious questions on the farce of the children’s hospital. Seems this government have no problem with banks using hired thugs supported by Guards in evictions, Yet when peaceful protests occur , the media goes into overdrive.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Feb 17th 2019, 2:59 PM

Wow! not even an hour of the incident starting and it is already out in the media, The politicians are wetting themselves with excitement, dreaming of their morning radio slots tomorrow where they can pour out their anguish on the national airwaves.
    Pat Kenny is gonna have a Hearto

Mute BAAB
    Favourite BAAB
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:02 PM

@Pixie McMullen:
    Do you mean a heart on!!!!

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Favourite Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:41 PM

@Pixie McMullen: pixie do you think it might be a pseudo demo. Orchestrated by ‘them’ to awaken sympathy as in the case of Harris?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:43 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara: 100% yes.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:23 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara: @tommytukamomo: Sinn Fein out accusing Bruton of organising protests outside his own home. What a despicable shower ye are.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:27 PM

@CrabaRev: coming from a dyed in the wool FG’r that’s rich.
    Still trying to deflect from your clueless ministers dishonesty and deception are you ??.
    Never mind, I’m sure you will blame the Shinners for that as well.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:30 PM

@CrabaRev: Accuses other of saying Politician organised it himself and is outraged….
    Then proceeds to do the very same thing in his next comment….. Well done you.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:46 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara: No Patricia i don`t , this is the same group that were at Harris`s place, they have decided enough is enough and are bringing it to the doors of the politicians as the politicians have brought it to their doors, with austerity and taxes etc.
    I have seen a few Facebook posts about them, I don`t think they have much support from what i can see though,
    Most people on social media seem to think it is a bad idea and only gives the politicians ammunition and sound bytes.
    These are only my personal views, on what i have seen in posts and comments though.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:44 PM

@CrabaRev: and your lot are saints!.

Mute Neville Bartos
    Favourite Neville Bartos
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:11 PM

@MK76: the loony left show their cards on the journal comments and think the majority of society would act as they would. They are a small minority and lets be thankful for that.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Feb 17th 2019, 9:28 PM

@Pixie McMullen: “Then proceeds to do the very same thing in his next comment….. Well done you.”
    I did nothing of the sort. The comment which for some strange reason was deleted asked a question which showed the hypocracy of your, @Patricia Mcnamara’s and @tommytukamomo’s comment. But you knew that. You Sinn Fein posters are some of the most disingenuous, dishonest, and dispicable group on here.

@tommytukamomo: I am not a member of Fine Gael, a supporter of fine Gael or anything to do with Fine Gael. I am just calling you and your Sinn Fein colleagues out for what you are.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Feb 17th 2019, 9:44 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara:
    Who are my lot?

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Feb 17th 2019, 10:20 PM

@CrabaRev: my statement? I didn’t comment until after the one that was deleted by you ye clown, PS, Patricia posed a question, didn’t make an accusation
    Get your facts right

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Feb 18th 2019, 12:14 AM

@Pixie McMullen: You are rambling again. Is it the medication?

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Feb 18th 2019, 12:33 AM

@CrabaRev: Come here lad and i`ll make it simple for you, Patricia posed a question, which is still on the article, YOU came back with Faux outrage and accusing her and Tommytukamomo of saying a TD had organised it themselves THEN the very next comment was you asking had Gerry Adams got some people from Sinn Féin thrown something into his garden last year to play the victim…. THAT was deleted!! …
    I still hadn`t answered at that stage pal, Hadn`t even replied to my original comment – BUT When i pointed out your hypocrisy to you, you are now resorting to me being on/off medication, And you actually have the gall to call others disingenuous?? have a word with yourself in the mirror mate, something not right in your head.
    Point out my comment where i stated that Bruton had arranged it, you can`t, because i never made one, It`s all in your head
    talk about being a flaming Hypocrite, you are a joke mate, plain and simple

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Feb 18th 2019, 12:39 AM

@CrabaRev: Ye want to be going looking for a few meds yourself mate start with the Bi – Polar drugs, after that, ye might want to start looking at that film “Split” for an understanding of whats going on up there

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 18th 2019, 10:09 AM

@CrabaRev: nasty man.

Mute Ronan Fahy
    Favourite Ronan Fahy
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:27 PM

Bunch of tossers styling themselves as “the fingal batallion”. seriously like. What do they think they are, the army

Mute Juan Fangio
    Favourite Juan Fangio
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:29 PM

@Ronan Fahy: Rentamob.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:57 PM

@Ronan Fahy: Give them directions and they can march on North Korea,
    Yellow packs welcome to go too.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:36 PM

@Ronan Fahy: shades of another mafia gang in their use of terms like ‘free state’ and ‘batallion’.
    Bunch of inadequate toerags who wouldn’t last ten minutes in a real army.

Mute Jono
    Favourite Jono

Any sort of protest gets criticised any so what difference does it make!! Go for it guys..takes more than that to scare a td trust me

Mute DavidOReilly
    Favourite DavidOReilly

@Jono: well these one also effect kids and spouses not in politics. It’s not very intelligent of these people ,there just making victims of the poor politicians. Can just imagine the collective outrage if all politicians in the morning tripping g over themselves to get to a microphone.

Mute Irish Genius
    Favourite Irish Genius
    Feb 17th 2019, 9:27 PM

Journal overdoing the green thumbs,

Mute TractorPat
    Favourite TractorPat
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:04 PM

While I don’t agree with such protests it does show the anger and dissatisfaction among certain Irish people. FG have lost touch with reality and the people. And with FF keeping them in power then they agree with what’s going on. Never mind this Brexit argument, if FF thought they had a chance of getting in they’d pull the plug in a heartbeat. They probably fear getting a kicking for facilitating the blue shirts. These protests will only escalate while FG continue with the corruption and incompetence.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:46 PM

@TractorPat: unfortunately there are a cohort of people that are blinded by their bullsh*t and vote for them.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:27 PM

@tommytukamomo: They are not blinded at all, they know exactly what FF and FG are all about and they are fine with it, the corruption, scandals, zero accountability, trough feeding the list is endless. The farmers, PS and wealthy will always vote for them no matter what because they know they will be looked after….the rest of us have to pay for it unfortunately.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Feb 17th 2019, 9:35 PM

@tommytukamomo:
    The alternative to a the centrist parties such as FF, FG, Labour and the centrist independents can not be countenanced.

The Irish voters are very well educated and know that an extreme left or Sinn Fein controlled government would be catastrophic for this country. The 2008 crash would be in the ha’penny place if they got even a sniff of power. Look at the car crash that is Northern Ireland.

Mute Noirin Kavanagh
    Favourite Noirin Kavanagh
    Feb 18th 2019, 8:39 AM

@CrabaRev: Are you suggesting that since the crash, the debt this country is in, the incompetence, mismanagement and waste of public money that has lead to a joke of a health service, the rising homelessness, and rising costs of living for hardworking people is somehow better than a left government? Seriously, worse than letting people die because they got smear tests on the cheap, or because they refuse to pay nurses a fair wage and create conditions of stress in the workplace that make well educated and smart people emigrate so that understaffing and stress is inevitable, with sick people spending hours on trolleys? Worse than children being reared in hotel rooms?

Mute BAAB
    Favourite BAAB
    Feb 17th 2019, 2:54 PM

They’ll get nothing but bad reception outside
    Mr Bruton’s house!!!!!

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:42 PM

@BAAB: good one.

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters

@Patricia Mcnamara: all you need to know is they used the phrase free state in their comments…says it all.

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott

I think this craic hanging around outside their front doors is too much. Distasteful.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:17 PM

@Ronan McDermott: No Ronan whats to much is the no accountability of ffg in all the scandals and corruption. This so called outrage by the blueshirts on here about this protest yet when people actually died (cervical cancer, homelessness, hospital waiting lists,etc.etc) they are nowhere to be seen. This is all faux outrage to try to get FG the sympathy vote.

Mute Liam Neeson
    Favourite Liam Neeson
    Feb 17th 2019, 2:59 PM

Yet Brutal,thinks unaccountable politicians should be acceptable and the norm.

Mute liam ward60
    Favourite liam ward60
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:04 PM

Fg/ff are too blind to see through the cracks we need an election to get them out we have no leader in charge

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott

@liam ward60: So if you take out FG FF out of a GE senario who have left surely not the hand in the pockets SF lot well then you are scraping the bottom of the barrel

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:44 PM

@Alan Scott: Sinn Fein Abu.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:51 PM

@liam ward60: and you’re too blind to see an election won’t get them out. The next Taoiseach will be Leo or Mickey Martin. Sad but true, if you think otherwise you haven’t a clue. It’s going to take years for the status quo to change.

Mute Ian Kelleher
    Favourite Ian Kelleher
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:28 PM

Keep it up. They’re elected public officials and not doing their job. Any potential politicians thinking to start out would think twice before they set out on their career of lies if this was the price. I want to join this group

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:15 PM

@Ian Kelleher: try running for the Dail instead.

Mute Fidgenti
    Favourite Fidgenti
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:25 PM

“We can’t allow this to happen,” he said. “We can’t allow this to become acceptable or normal.”

What’s this “We” business, Paleface?

Mute Aisling
    Favourite Aisling
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:09 PM

@Fidgenti: the Irish public. The majority of people don’t agree with protesting outside someone’s family home. It’s harassment.

Mute Jono
    Favourite Jono
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:24 PM

My guess is theyre on fg payroll and this distracts from the shambles at st james and the BAM letter to withdraw

Mute Jono
    Favourite Jono
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:22 PM

@James Wallace: spoken like a through fine gael man..a complete mor_n

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:41 PM

@Jono: so your claiming the Fingal Batallion are on the FG payroll? And you call me a moron? Lol! I’m not an FGer either, I think they’re an incompetent shower of Muppets. I suggest to get on to Fingal Batallion and let them know your theory.

Mute Tom Tom
    Favourite Tom Tom
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:36 PM

Unacceptable.

Mute Jono
    Favourite Jono

Dj’s around the country are getting erections at the tbhought of tomorrow morning on our airwaves…distraction is needed after that BAM letter to hse

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:02 PM

@Jono: DJs normally play music and talk shite. You think Ian Dempsey is worried by this, or something?

Mute Roger Mainworthy
    Favourite Roger Mainworthy
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:17 PM

There’s more than him living in his home. The other occupants have nothing to do with his activities as a Govt minister.

They’re going the right way to achieve a change in the law. Well done Les Gilet Jaunes.

Mute Bernard Mc Donnell
    Favourite Bernard Mc Donnell
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:28 PM

@Roger Mainworthy: they enjoy the fruits of his labour ,cop on and don’t talk crap

Mute Paddy O
    Favourite Paddy O
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:49 PM

@Bernard Mc Donnell: En….pot…kettle…

Mute Des Hanrahan
    Favourite Des Hanrahan

Does anyone know who they are . What party or group they are, affiliated with.

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:32 PM

@Des Hanrahan: Do they have to be aligned? Maybe they were out for Sunday walk and decided to have a bit of an old protest.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara

@Des Hanrahan: my thoughts too. Could be an orchestrated demo to discredit groups

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:58 PM

@Des Hanrahan: they used the phrase free state…at a wild guess I’d say they know Jarry and his like.

Mute Des Hanrahan
    Favourite Des Hanrahan

@SFNutters: S/F condemned the protests last week so I don’t think that there is a connection. The term ‘Free State’ is also used to mock F/G.

Mute Paddy J
    Favourite Paddy J
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:15 PM

@Des Hanrahan: the phrase had been used by crackpot pseudo republicans for the last 40+ years to refer to our country, nothing to do with FF as far as I know. These are the remnants of the loopers who wanted to setup a 32 county “socialist Republic” unicorn.

Mute Aisling
    Favourite Aisling
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:07 PM

Disgraceful to show up at someone’s family home. Is there no such thing as privacy? Do not agree with this at all.

Mute Philip Martin
    Favourite Philip Martin
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:22 PM

@Aisling: what about all the evictions and hundreds of Irish mother’s Father’sand their children lòsing their homes.. is that all right with you

Mute Peadar O'Comain
    Favourite Peadar O'Comain
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:17 PM

@Philip Martin: evicted because they don’t pay mortgage or rent.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:50 PM

@Peadar O’Comain: you have a bad memory of Ireland’s history
    yES. Some won’t.pay but most can’t.

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:27 PM

@Philip Martin: Very few evictions have taken place overall.Compromise and making an effort is all it takes to avoid the calamity of eviction.If you have
    /get a mortgage you make an effort to pay it back.Its a loan and agreement.Courts will assist where there us some efforts made to fulfil the original legal agreement.

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:27 PM

@Philip Martin: Very few evictions have taken place overall.Compromise and making an effort is all it takes to avoid the calamity of eviction.If you have
    /get a mortgage you make an effort to pay it back.Its a loan and agreement.Courts will assist where there us some efforts made to fulfil the original legal agreement.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:47 PM

Very convenient for the government to have all of these protests outside ministers home. Very convenient indeed.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:52 PM

@Ed: suspicious if.you ask me. FF FG using dirty tactics to gain ‘sympathy’ ala Harris

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:58 PM

@Ed: conspiracy theory much? Lol

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:54 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara: that’s just a totally stupid thing to say, considering a number of protest groups have claimed responsibility.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:48 PM

@James Wallace: who knows where some.of their loyalties lie. There have been government groups disguised as protesters. Deliberately sent to cause trouble in such cases. If you deny that then you are delusional or one of them.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:02 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara: when has that happened, that an Irish government organised a protest against itself? Dates, names and places please.I’m not delusional or one of the ‘them’ whoever ‘them’ is. It’s gas that someone who believes in a far fetched conspiracy theory like you do, should call me delusional. I have no time for this government at all, but I call it as i see it. Imaginary conspiracy theories don’t come on to it. Look up the groups behind this, I’d say they’re totally peed off when people accuse them of working for the government.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:43 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara: so, no names, dates or places then? Because it never happened.

Mute Billy Davies
    Favourite Billy Davies
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:50 PM

There’s a time and a place for all of this, politicians are human beings with families and a life outside of their work too. If some of those protesting feel so strongly about their views and critical of those in positions of power then they are free to campaign for a council or political office themselves. That I feel is a more effective measure and protest to those in power than stopping traffic at the port tunnel or showing up at someone’s house on a Sunday afternoon causing a ruckus.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:37 PM

If you want to live in a democracy then you are welcome and change things through the democratic process. If its not fast enough for you then go live somewhere else. BUT if you want to stay as an anarchistic thug you take your chances and hopefully our Gardai will handle you!!!!

Mute Bernard Mc Donnell
    Favourite Bernard Mc Donnell

@Chris Gaffney: are you a racist,telling people where to live?

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:45 PM

@Chris Gaffney: again, Peter can you educate us all on what actual law was broken ? maybe jog down there and inform the thugs ( and garda while you at it ) of it.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:54 PM

@Bernard Mc Donnell: back to ur pint lad

Mute Neville Bartos
    Favourite Neville Bartos
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:59 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: anti-social behaviour part 11 of the criminal justice act 2006 – causing intimidation

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:14 PM

@Neville Bartos:funny how no guards have charged any of these people with such an offence. not last week, not this week.

Mute Neville Bartos
    Favourite Neville Bartos
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:22 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: The protesters were asked by the Garda to move on and they did. That’s how anti social behaviour is dealt with in the first instance.

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:37 PM

@Neville Bartos: so no one charged ? so much for FG been the party of law and order. I suppose McCabe put a nail in that coffin.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:51 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: too busy being corrupt.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:20 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara: can you name me any member of the current front bench that have proven allegation of corruption against them?

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 9:42 PM

@James Wallace: I thought not.

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:25 PM

Playing right into FG’s hands. This will allow them to portray themselves as victims and distract from all their failings. Keep the protests to their offices, the Fáil and most importantly the ballot box.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo

Rent-A-Crowd getting a bit of deflection overtime in.Double time for Sunday I believe.
    Do ffg really think the electorate are as thick as they are !!!!

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:41 PM

@tommytukamomo: Leo said it in the Dail bar that the electorate are fools. Accepting squandering of public money, the lack of any accountability from government, scandal after scandal, the levels of unprecendened poverty and homelessness, draconian taxation while banks and vultures pay no tax, i think Leo has a point. Given how people have been driven to protest in a manner they cannot be simply ignored and dismissed by unlistening, unaccountable political Royalty, if it brings it home to the masters doors then that’s what has to be done.
    The lessons of history tell us that people will only take so much. People have taken to much as it is.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:58 PM

@tommytukamomo: you’re obviously not the brightest yourself if you still think the government is behind this, despite the fact that a number of organisation have accepted responsibility.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo

@James Wallace: Hehehehe…..and you think I’m not the brightest…. really !!!.
    Oh dear.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:53 PM

@James Wallace: a rose by any other name comes to mind. You are wearing the tin foil hat not Tommy

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:26 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara: the fingal Batallion have a Facebook page ( a real one, not a fake one like yours) why don’t you go on there and accuse them of being government employees?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:47 PM

@James Wallace: FG lies. It’s what they do best. Their record speaks for itself.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:54 PM

@Dave Doyle: yes they spin and spoof and deflect. You’re right. But a number of protest groups have organised these demonstrations, groups that have zero connection to the government. Check out their social media. Anyone who thinks the govt organised this has to be a bit dim to be honest.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 18th 2019, 10:13 AM

@James Wallace: you are the false accuser. My Facebook profile.is.real. I just do not give a lot of info

Feb 17th 2019, 3:13 PM

Do these idiot politicians think gagging cancer patients to keep them silent is acceptable. Our politicians are a disgrace. They make horrendous decisions affecting the personal lives of many people and think they should suffer no accountability. This is acceptable.

Feb 17th 2019, 3:16 PM

If these politicians aren’t good enough, (and they obviously aren’t), they should get out.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace

@Adrian: where and did the any government gag cancer patients? Yes they’re a shite government but the standard of commentary on here is ridiculous. How about we stick to facts.

Feb 17th 2019, 5:13 PM

@James Wallace: the start of the cervcheck scandal, fact.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:23 PM

@Adrian: that’s strange, i heard several brave women over the past few months talking about the cervical scandal. They didn’t sound like they were wearing a gag to me. The HSE lawyers did try to impose a non disclosure agreement, that’s a 100 miles away from the government gagging free speech.

Feb 17th 2019, 8:30 PM

@James Wallace: I distinctly remember one incident of the kerry woman being approached by a kerry publican on behalf of FG in an attempt to silence her. Leo said he never met the publican but there was a photo of them standing beside each other at a football match. I couldn’t find anything on the internet. Surprise! Surprise! There’s probably another scandal in the gov getting negative gov related news wiped from the internet if anyone bothers to look into it.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:50 PM

@Adrian: comedy gold! It’s virtually impossible to remove stuff from the internet! Besides, I just found the story in about 20 seconds. The publican you refer to wasn’t trying to silence her, he suggested she work as a government advocate on the issue. Shameful to be sure as were elements of the government response, but it’s still a long way from the government trying to gag these unfortunate women.

Mute Eileen Horgan
    Favourite Eileen Horgan
    Feb 18th 2019, 4:57 PM

@James Wallace: Remember the original case taken by that brave woman in Limerick where the State side (HSE, Health Minister, AG) tried to have her sign a confidentiality clause as part of the settlement to avoid publicity surrounding the cancer scandal, something Harris and Leo knew about when it was flagged originally by the medics, but denied they were told about it.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:08 PM

Utter morons with moronic causes. I wonder are these the same crazies who jumped on the yellow vest thing. Their poor organisation, odd list of issues and intimidatory tactics certainly sound similar.

Mute Vincent Sharpe
    Favourite Vincent Sharpe

I see the back stabbers are in full swing.

Mute alan doyle
    Favourite alan doyle
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:00 PM

Looks like an eirigi meeting

Mute Colum Cusack
    Favourite Colum Cusack
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:55 PM

Won’t Bruton be campaigning outside many private residences in the next few months. Intimidating them, knocking at their doors telling big porkers…

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick

When will there be protests about income tax or USC , or are taxes that are not dependant on income the only ones worth protesting?
    Also can someone on here define the “working man”. Just trying to find the going rate of where a man stops working and gets free money because I see the words working man bandied about here a lot.

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:54 PM

Brilliant. This needs to happen on a massive scale. This entire country needs to stand up and say ‘enough’. Our govt and their rich buddies are cleaning us out left right and centre. This has to change.

Mute GorillaGrower
    Favourite GorillaGrower
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:37 PM

The little lionheart should bring them out a few cups of tea, that’s what I would do.

Mute Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Favourite Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig

“the free state”????? Who are these imbeciles???

Mute Paul O'Brien
    Favourite Paul O'Brien

@Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig: kinda gives it away. It’s a Northern Republican epithet for the Republic of Ireland. It seems to have escaped their notice that we’ve been a republic since…anyway it was before I was born, which was neither today nor yesterday…

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Feb 17th 2019, 3:56 PM

@Paul O’Brien: the Republic of Ireland is a football team. The name of the State is Ireland or Éire.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:55 PM

@Paul O’Brien: not ALL of Ireland is a republic.and the old IRA helped to free us from UK.

Mute Tony Hutchinson
    Favourite Tony Hutchinson
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:16 PM

The biggest landlord in the dail. He’s allowed knock on our door and ask for votes. This wretch is also at my train station every week. Time they got a bit of there own medicine.

Mute Jams O' Donnell
    Favourite Jams O' Donnell
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:23 PM

If memory serves me right this action is an offence under The Offences Against the State Act. Could some Superintendent somewhere read up on it!!!

Mute Lucy Rodgers
    Favourite Lucy Rodgers
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:11 PM

Protesting against carbon tax? Yep, sums it up. The kind of parasitic, hand-out leeches that expect everything and contribute nothing.

Mute Caped Crusader
    Favourite Caped Crusader
    Feb 17th 2019, 7:15 PM

So the same people that protest regarding the Children’s Hospital overrun are the same protesting about the introduction of a Carbon Tax? Seem like a group that just want to protest for the sake of it

Mute Vincent Sharpe
    Favourite Vincent Sharpe
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:51 PM

AAAAaaa poor ould Richard is upset.
    Has Richard been disturbed in his upper Class Tower????

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:33 PM

Thugs in balaclavas outside your home beating at the door is frightening minister

Mute Declan Joseph Deasy
    Favourite Declan Joseph Deasy
    Feb 17th 2019, 4:57 PM

What type of low life are these people? S*#m bags

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:09 PM

Last week’s protest saved Harris’ ass. This one serves even less purpose as Dickie is so dim he probably didn’t even notice them. Block the M50 if you want a proper protest. FG will only react when it costs them money.

Mute Frank Mullen
    Favourite Frank Mullen

Ah sure we’ll all be voting for the lads anyway next election. They will do what they want anyway with tax, laws etc those lovable rogues

Mute Vincent Sharpe
    Favourite Vincent Sharpe
    Feb 17th 2019, 8:30 PM

Whats up Richard are the working class plebs getting on your wick OOOOOoo how sad for you

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Feb 17th 2019, 5:48 PM

Get ‘em. Do your job, we know where you live.

Mute iComment
    Favourite iComment

Is this also a climate change protest….He is minister for Climate Action….

Mute Sega Yolo
    Favourite Sega Yolo
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:13 PM

Right sentiment, wrong method.

Mute Galwaygogo
    Favourite Galwaygogo
    Feb 17th 2019, 6:07 PM

Careful now, Down with that sort of thing !

Mute Frank Mullen
    Favourite Frank Mullen

Ah sure we’ll all be voting for the lads anyway next election. They will do what they want anyway with tax, laws etc those lovable rogues

Mute Jaycee Laycee
    Favourite Jaycee Laycee
    Feb 17th 2019, 10:00 PM

Bad form and pointless.
    The Minister already knows he hasn’t got a mandate to introduce carbon taxes on a level that will make any difference to emissions, which the climate kids are demanding.

Mute Broadoak
    Favourite Broadoak
    Feb 17th 2019, 10:27 PM

Why do all these people have declare war on the environment.